.pancake bites. {type 1 diabetes: recipe}

We’ve had enough negative posts lately so how about some positivity: FOOD!

I’m a Pinterest addict — who isn’t these days — and I often pin things and never try them. I’ve tried to make a real effort to do at least one “pin” each month and this month, I picked an easy one: Pancake Bites! The pin I have is a broken link but the original post is here.

The pin I had said to use your favourite mix, pour it in and add some extras. I made my pancake mix from [easy] scratch (recipe to follow), sprayed the pan and made my first batch plain. My plan was to freeze the pancake bits and reheat them individually for the boys all week. I only got FOUR in the freezer because apparently my children have been missing this food their entire life. They love them!!

Our second batch, we added a banana to the mix and some chocolate chips to the tops. I didn’t really think about it ahead of time but the chocolate chips slowly fell to the middle of the pancake bite while they were being cooked, creating a hidden chocolate centre! The kids loved it!

Pancake Bites
We didn’t take our own pictures — this one is from the original blog post.

Pancake Bites
Makes 12 – 12.5g net carbs each

1 1/3 cup        Flour                2 tsp            Baking Powder            2 Tbsp      Sugar
3/4 tsp           Salt                   1 1/2 cup    Milk                               1                Egg
2 1/2 Tbsp     Oil

  • Add all ingredients to food processor and mix (Or use a bowl & wisk if you’re old school)
  • Pour evenly into 12 tin muffin pan, sprayed with cooking spray, about 3/4 full
  • Bake for 15-20 minutes at 350 degrees
  • Let cool and enjoy!

If you want to add a banana (medium size, 18.5g CHO) and chocolate chips (6 each pancake, 20g CHO total) like we did, the total net carb amount for each pancake bite is 15.5g.

 

Let us know what different types of pancakes bites you tried and how your family liked it!

12 thoughts on “.pancake bites. {type 1 diabetes: recipe}

  1. I didn’t try it yet, but I believe I will tomorrow morning! I have everything I need, and was planning to make a nice, different breakfast tomorrow. Thanks for sharing!

  2. These were wonderful – I added bananas and walnuts. Also tried some with cranberry pieces. Very good idea. No children, but my husband and I loved them…. Thanks for the recipe.

      • I “liked” Holidays on fb and was “sweetly” introduced to you and your enjoyable blog. 🙂

    • Hi Linda,

      Thanks for your comment! (SO sorry it took this long to reply!)

      Bananas and walnuts sounds delicious! Maybe a bit of dark chocolate and you’ve got a banana loaf type taste! Glad to hear you guys liked it!

      – Melissa

Leave a Reply

